The Paradox of Normality

Some time ago (back in June actually) an idea formed in my head that led me to a conclusion: normal people are in fact abnormal. While I’m not really the kind of person who writes about this kind of stuff, I thought it was a pretty interesting train of thought and so decided to do a video on it.

I called it ‘The Paradox of Normality’ because of its paradoxical conclusion, and for a long period of time it became my hobby project that I do from time to time.

Here’s the logic behind the paradox: because everyone is different, everyone is therefore different from the norm in some way, big or small. And in this sense, everyone’s therefore uniquely abnormal. If this is so, then those who are (or claim to be) normal would hence be considered abnormal. Therefore, the normal are abnormal.

As with other videos I’ve created, I drew the illustrations and graphical elements in Illustrator and imported them into Keynote, then added the animations and exported the presentation as a movie, which I then edited in iMovie to fine tune and add the audio. It’s actually very much a home-made video with no sophisticated software used.

One of the main problems in creating the video was to find a way to graphically present the logic behind the paradox. In the beginning, I chose a darker colour palette with an array of thin and italicised serif and san-serif fonts to form the basic skeleton of the video, as such:

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 1.15.54 PMI also drew simple, bacteria-like illustrations to depict humans and scenes that will be used to explain the flow of logic.

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 6.09.26 PMAfter a while, though, the illustrations didn’t seem to work and began to seem more gimmicky while being cumbersome to animate and design. It was also tough trying to figure out transitions that would fit the overall feel, and the video felt a little too complicated to understand.

So for a period of time (months, in fact), I brushed the project aside while subconsciously trying to figure out another way to design the video. And after a pretty long break from the project, I decided to try another design style.

Bright and colourful, with no shadings and shadows and just 2 typefaces, the second design scheme felt like a breath of fresh air to me, and I kind of liked it. So I started working on Illustrator to draw the graphical elements of the video, and decided that the illustrations should be straightforward and simple.

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 1.28.05 PM

The colour palette I chose was slightly contrasting, but I liked how the colours seemed to pop and make the video seem more lively.

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 1.28.11 PM

Here’s the Keynote presentation, showing the rather tedious chain of animations:

Screen Shot 2013-08-29 at 7.54.39 PM

So after transferring the illustrations into Keynote and editing the video in iMovie, here’s the final video on The Paradox of Normality:

2 thoughts on “The Paradox of Normality

I wanna hear your comments!

